New Me Gluten Free!

Today marks the official start date for my new gluten free diet!

I’m anxious to see if it has any affect on my skin, but I’m also very hopeful because I really want my skin to get better, so I know I will be strict about sticking to it.

I received my Thrive groceries on Friday, and I had a chance to sample a few of the products.

I’m using the Thrive Market Organic Virgin Coconut Oil on my arms and legs as a replacement for my normal Cetaphil cream. I’ve used coconut oil before, but it didn’t have any effect, so we’ll see how it goes this time.

(At least I will always smell fabulous.)

For breakfast, I had one of the Nature’s Path Organic Chocolate Crispy Rice Cereal Bars with a glass of milk. It reminded me of a chocolate Rice Krispy Treat.

For lunch, I had leftovers of the salmon quinoa bowl with mushrooms and peppers my sister ordered from BJ’s yesterday. (I originally got the chicken quinoa bowl. I recommend both bowls, minus the tomatoes on the chicken bowl. They made the quinoa taste funny.)

Dinner was carrots, the Krave Black Cherry Barbecue Pork Jerky, and string cheese.

As I type, I munch on the Angie’s Boomchickapop Sweet & Salty Kettle Corn. I also decided to be brave and sample the Pacific Natural Foods Unsweetened Almond Beverage right out of the bottle. It actually isn’t too bad. It’s smooth like regular milk… Just with a funky after taste.

I tried the Gimme Roasted Seaweed Snacks as well… I describe them as “spinach paper with salt and a hint of fishiness.” (I made my sister try one, and she said they tasted like “skin flakes”. *literally laughed out loud*)

Honest Green Tea, mixed nuts, another cereal bar, and possibility an apple for breakfast tomorrow. I’m thinking Pei Wei for lunch. (If you’ve never been, GO. Get the Teriyaki Chicken over Brown Rice.) For dinner, I’m going to make the Ancient Harvest Quinoa Penne Pasta and the Jovial: Organic Crushed Tomatoes into a pasta dish with baked chicken, and then I’ll probably look up some Pinterest recipes for rest of the week.

(I still have some Spouts grocery shopping to do anyway.)

I have a dermatologist’s appointment February 23rd, so I have about three weeks to test this gluten intolerance theory. If my skin starts to clear up, I can cancel my appointment and stick to being gluten free. If not, who knows what mystery my dermatologist will uncover. *nonchalant shrug* All in God’s timing, I guess!

 

Leave a Reply

