Valentine’s Day 2016

After a few loads of laundry and several episodes of Man vs Food, we got fixed up and drove over to Scratch in downtown Norman for Valentine’s Day dinner.

This was our first experience at Scratch, but it gave a good impressed as soon as we walked through the door. The restaurant had modern flair but still made you feel right at home. It had an outdoor patio that would be great as a causal hang out as well, but we set inside.

We started off with cocktails. I had the Sooner Cobbler. It was sweet with a hint of thyme and garnished with a fresh blackberry. I would order it again. My boyfriend tried the Landing Gear (a little too strong for my taste) and the Whiskey Smash (like butterscotch with a touch of mint).

Scratch’s regular menu had entrees and appetizers around the $10-$20 range, but they had a special menu for the holiday. (We each got our own appetizer, entree, and dessert at a lumped price.)

They offered pea soup, tuna tartare, or kale salad as the appetizers; lamb chops, red snapper, or ratatouille as the entrees; and tres leches cake or chocolate mousse as the desserts.

I had the pea soup, ratatouille, and the chocolate mousse. My boyfriend had the tartare, red snapper, and the tres leches.

After a little salt, my pea soup was good. The texture was nice, and they threw in some fresh greens for color.

If you like cucumber, the tuna tartare is for you. It had thin slices of cucumber at the base, a ring of tuna pieces with cucumber, and then topped with their house made potato chips. The chips were great and the tuna and cucumber were fresh. It wasn’t for me, but my boyfriend licked the plate clean.

The vegetables in my ratatouille stewed perfectly, and the tomato base was to die for. It also came with a large piece of cheddar-parmesan-garlic bread on the side that my boyfriend used to sop up the sauce after I ate all the veggies.

His red snapper was a little dry but still very delicious. (He just dumped the rest of the ratatouille sauce on top to fix that problem.) It came on a bed of couscous with green olives. The taste and texture was interesting, especially with the olives, but it wasn’t bad.

While I wish the desserts were bigger, they were both amazing. The tres leches cake was soft and creamy and topped with slices of fresh strawberry. The chocolate mousse was smooth and rich but in a satisfying way. (We scooped the last bit out of the glass with our fingers. *no shame*)

And I will admit I cheated my gluten free diet by sampling the cheese bread and tres leches cake, but it was SO worth it.

After that, all we got was the check. I expected it to be expensive, but it was still more than I thought. However, their cocktails were good, and rumor has it their brunch is awesome sauce, so we’ll be back.

We left Scratch and headed to the IMAX for Deadpool. We arrived about 45 minutes before the movie, but thank God we did (and thank God I bought my tickets ahead of time). Lines stretched almost out the door, and people piled into the theater by the group full. We landed good seats on the left side half way up.

The lights dimmed and the previews rolled as the last of the lost souls attempted to find seats, and then the movie started.

It wasn’t as bad as I expected. Yeah, it was R-rated for a reason, but it wasn’t too much. Just a lot of violence (like any other [anti]hero movie) with a lot of adult humor. I don’t think I would watch it in theaters again, but it was action packed and goofy and right up my boyfriend’s alley. However, it made for a good date movie because the humor cut into the overly masculine feel that comes with some action movies. (Plus it had a romance story line and all that sappy junk.)

We ended the evening with the mid season premier of The Walking Dead. If you don’t watch it, you should. You can find Seasons 1-5 on Netflix, the first half of Season 6 on AMC.com, and the second half of Season 6 comes on Sundays at 9:00 PM on AMC.

(Don’t tell me it’s too late at night. That’s what DVR is for.)

If you like/love TWD, you should also check out the spin off series Fear the Walking Dead. The first season is on AMC.com, and the second season will come on after Season 6 of TWD ends.

I hope y’all had a great Valentine’s Day!

Leave a Reply

