Happy Birthday to Me!

Yesterday, I turned 22 years old at exactly 3:00 AM. I (obviously) wasn’t awake for that, so the festivities began when I woke up around 8:00 AM.

I laid in bed for about an hour before I had to get ready to leave for CrossFit. On my way there, I stopped for Double Smoked Bacon, Cheddar, & Egg Sandwich (guilty pleasure) from Starbucks using my free birthday reward.

CrossFit kicked my butt (as usual), but with the chilly weather, it was a good warm up before practice. We started with speed ladders and dynamic warm ups with line runs, jumps, etc., and then we had the rest of the hour to finish 55 deadlifts, 55 wall balls, 55 jump rope singles, 55 push ups, and 55 more jump rope singles. I finished everything fairly quickly, so I went back through everything again with 25 reps per exercise.

We had an intrasquad for practice that went well. I was 2-3 batting, and I had no balls hit to me.

(Just another day in right field…)

After, a few of us went to the baseball game for a little bit before we got free lunch from Billy Sim’s Barbecue (HOLLA!). When we finished there, I headed home for a shower and a short nap before getting fixed up and driving to the city for dinner at FLINT.

They have complimentary valet. (Considering it is in Bricktown and parking there on the weekends is basically non-existent… *thumbs up*)

The decor inside reminded me of Scratch. Modern and chic with low lighting, but nothing overly fancy. Their website says “causal” dress code, but I would feel uncomfortable if I didn’t at least dress cute causal or business casual.

We started the meal with the Smothered Potato Wedges: thick, crispy, seasoned potato wedges under a sea of beer cheese and a mound of bison pot roast.

(We considered taking a second order to go because they were THAT good.)

Our waitress brought out our cocktails next. I had a Moscow Mule, and my boyfriend had an Old Fashion. My Moscow Mule was good but nothing fancy. My boyfriend’s Old Fashion was VERY strong, but it had a good smoky taste with a hint of orange.

I ordered an off the menu bone-in pork chop over Yukon smashed potatoes with ribboned vegetables in a bacon, barbecue sauce.

I ate everything except for the bone on the pork chop. The meat was juicy and tender. The smashed potatoes were smooth and buttery. The vegetables were cooked al dente, and then the salty, crispy chunks of bacon paired perfectly with the sweet barbecue sauce.

*mouth still watering*

My boyfriend order the daily Seafood Feature which was a literal slab of some type of white fish with crab legs/claws, over a blue cheese polenta (he substituted the smashed potatoes), and asparagus. For the record, he doesn’t even like mashed potatoes, and he ate them all. The crab legs were gold, and the fish was flaky, buttery, and succulent.

(I finished the rest of that also.. *no shame*)

We wrapped up dinner with the warm chocolate stout brownie with ice cream drizzled in caramel gounche. (Y’all know I have a sweet tooth.)

Last event for the night was the movie theater for Gods of Egypt. It’s a 2 hour movie, but things were always happening, so it didn’t feel like 2 hours. The movie was a little cheesy, but overall, it wasn’t bad. However, I would suggest waiting until it is out of the theater to watch it.

Once again, I would like to thank everyone for the birthday wishes, and thank you to my boyfriend for spoiling me.

I am feeling 22, but I’m also feeling grateful. I love you all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

