The Beauty Brunch

I forgot to tell you guys about Sunday brunch date with my mom and sister!

We went back to Scratch. My sister had been before also, but it was a new experience for my mom.

We got there before 3:00 PM, so they were still serving brunch, as mentioned.

We skipped on the appetizers but started the meal instead with some cocktails.

My mom ordered the Sooner Cobbler (what I ordered last time), and I ordered a Young At Heart. It had vodka and sparkling wine, so it was right up my alley.

—–

Food wise…

My sister ordered a spicy Caesar salad and a bowl of tortilla soup. I’m not a Siracha fan, so I didn’t try her salad, but the soup was one of the best I’ve ever had. I just wished the chunks of avocado in it were smaller.

My mom ordered the flank steak with a house salad. The steak was good but a little underdone for my tastes; however, the salad was very good.

It was fresh greens, tomatoes, and onions with a house vinegarette that was light in a good way. It was mildly acidic and slightly sweet. (I recommend!)

I also recommend what I ordered. I was tempted by the blueberry pancakes at first, but I finally decided on the hawaiian pork sandwich.

The sweet and smoky pork came piled on a large, halved roll. (The roll was dense and sweet and magical.) I ordered the cole slaw on the side, which I’m glad I did because it was a little acidic, but I enjoyed the nutty finish the poppy seeds gave it.

It also came with a side of fries and spicy ketchup. The ketchup was a little much for me, but I loved the fries.

—–

Last, but certainly not least…

(Never least.)

They had a triple chocolate cake, a moonshine apple pie, and a butter pecan ice cream for desserts.

So what did we do, naturally?

We ordered one of each.

The triple chocolate was chocolate cake layered with chocolate mousse, vanilla mousse, and expresso mousse covered in chocolate gounche. (It was so good, I force fed myself forkfuls until I thought my stomach might burst.)

The apple pie was fantastic, as well. I wished the apples were more on the tart side instead of the sweet side, but it had a flaky pastry crust, so y’all know I ate all of that.

But nothing comes close to the ice cream. It was the table favorite, hands down. (Our waitress even brought us a little extra after we told her we loved it so much.) And honestly, it’s probably the best ice cream I’ve ever had.

It was cold velvet in your mouth with the perfect amount of sweetness, and then the pecans added this roasted crunch… (My mouth is watering again just typing about it.)

It’s for real to die for.

I would go back just for the ice cream with no shame.

—–

We spent a little more money than we expected, but everything was completely worth it. We all left so full, it literally hurt.

(It was the level of gluttony equal to my vacation in Orlando. *awkward laugh*)

But my mom loved it so much, she took my dad back the next day to eat, and we’ll  all be back again in two weeks for my graduation party!

They’re definitely going to know us by name at the end of this…

Oh well!

Leave a Reply

